Historic Videos


This page contains a selection of historic video clips. Pride of place goes to the first short clip of the 1928 Varsity Match at Weymouth, which Cambridge won 38½-25½. This victory initiated a series of six successive wins for Cambridge, in the times of Stewart Morris, Peter Scott, and John Winter. Pathe News announce the event as the 8th Varsity Match, but it was in fact the 12th match. Three matches were sailed in 1912-14 before the 1st World War, and the fixture re-started again in 1920 at Oulton Broad.

1928 Clip Details and Some History

The two-minute clip has been edited from a five-minute Pathe News clip that contained quite a lot of repetitive material. Some of the original audio comments were inaccurate, so the commentary has been replaced (though it incorrectly states that the order of appearance of the teams is not known, and that there is a minder in each boat – actually a second undergraduate crew). The start of the clip shows the teams: Oxford first (names unknown); Cambridge second (G C Tozer, F P Usborne, O A Jones, P A Tritton, P M Munroe, S H Morris). The racing was two boats a side with three undergraduates in a boat – each taking their turn at helming over the six races. It was not until 1930 that the match standardised on three boats a side; in 1937 that scoring adopted the ‘9¼, 8, etc.’ points system; and in 1961 that the result was decided on races won.

How to Control the Video Players

Use the video players below one at a time or you will get some strange results! A control bar will appear if you ‘mouse-over’ the player once it has started.

1984 Jubilee Event

The following two clips are from the April 1984 Jubilee Invitation Team Racing event held at Farmoor. A (dated!) instructional team racing DVD of the event, complete with graphics, commentary, and scene markers, is available from the Webmaster. The DVD was made with sponsorship from the Biggs Wall construction company and was presented to the RYA to assist in the popularisation of team racing at the time.

1984 Jubilee Prize Giving

In the prize-giving clip below, Stewart Morris, then Secretary Davis Hare, organisers Chris Pugh and Andrew Hattersley, and a tankard for each competitor are prominent. Also to be seen are John Redding (Nottingham Outlaws – nearest the camera) and Chris Atkins (Granchester Flash – second from camera) making a joint winners speech, half a sentence each at a time, because a supposedly vital protest to decide the winner was still running.

Some wrong scoring then ensued with first Flash (Chris Atkins, Will Henderson, Roger Yeoman) and then Outlaws (Jon Redding, Charles Stanley, Nigel Allso?) being declared the winners (but no trophy!) – as recorded on page 56 of Jeremy Atkins’ history of the Society.

Interview With Stewart Morris

This clip is of an interview with Stewart Morris, at the 1984 Jubilee Event, in which he reflects on the evolution of team racing in the UK – up to the early 1980’s.

2010 Annual Dinner

This final clip is some scenes from the 2010 annual dinner in the Naval Club, London.