Match Racing Varsity

Early History

Eurynome Bowl - Now with an inscribed base
Eurynome Bowl – Now with an inscribed base
The very first Varsity Match, held on the river at Ely in 1912, took place in match racing rather than team racing format – though it became a team race the following year at Oxford. For historic convenience, the 1912 match is listed as part of the main Varsity Match history and this match racing history starts with the first modern Varsity match race held at the Royal Southern YC, Hamble in July 2014.

Trophies and Blues

Two CUCrC cups have been re-purposed for the modern match: the Eurynome Bowl for the First Team; and the Challenge Cup for the Second Team. The event does not yet have Half Blue status.


An historic list of Cambridge teams is maintained on the History pages of the CUCrC Student, Alumni, News, History website. There is currently no online list of Oxford teams.

Analysis of Results to Date

So far Cambridge have won the main match once and Oxford nil; Oxford have won the 2nd team match once and Cambridge nil.

Year Eurynome Bowl Challenge Cup Place
2017 Not Sailed Not Sailed
2016 Not Sailed Not Sailed
2015 Not sailed Not sailed
2014 Cambridge Oxford Hamble